NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Face lift

Face lift

There are different names for the face lift such as the “mini face lift”, the “MACS lift”, the “S-lift”, the “soft lift”, the “SMAS lift”, the “sub-SMAS lift “ and the  “quick lift”.

Your plastic surgeon will determine with you which technique suits you best.

Life begins at 40! It emanates from the fact that we live longer but alas this does not always show through on the outside. With the passing time your skin may look like has seen better days, in fact it has lost its elasticity and its glow gradually decreases. You will notice the appearance of creases between the corner of the mouth and the cheek (this is known as ‘marionette's grooves'), between the nose and the corner of the mouth (the nasolabial crease) and the expression lines.

Ageing of the skin is caused by two principle factors. On the one hand the force of gravity on the skin and on the other hand the skin loses its elasticity because there is less connective tissue in the skin. On top of this fat and muscle melt away between the skin and the underlying skeleton, stress, heredity and sunlight do the rest.

The following exercise is very simple and can show you how your new face will be. Look at yourself in the mirror. Next, lie down and look in a hand mirror you are able to see how it makes the creases disappear from  
the skin between the nose, the mouth and the cheeks.

Would you like to radiate eternal youth?

Which wrinkles can the face lift eliminate?

A face lift allows us to turn back the clock. Thanks to this operation you will look 10 years younger. The outline of the face is reshaped and your skin will be firmer with a youthful sparkle. You are younger and it shows!

A face lift allows a light correction of deeper wrinkles. The nasolabial crease and the marionette's groove are from then on less obvious. For those deeper grooves lipofilling (lipostructure) may be a perfect complementary treatment.

To correct more superficial wrinkles, a peeling, laser treatment or fillers are more tailor-made (see wrinkle treatment).

What happens?

A face lift is not limited to the face only according to us. The neck and the chin are also treated.

Firstly subcutaneous fat of the chin is sucked away by means of liposculpture. By doing this the skin of the neck is detached so that it can be firmly pulled in an upwards direction.

An incision is made in the natural crease just in front of the ear. This incision follows up to the side burn. The skin is detached up to the middle of the cheek. Next the muscles of the face and neck are tightened thanks to suspension loops . The correction of these muscles refers to the term SMAS lift (superficial myoaponeurotic system). The plastic surgeon places these loops vertically against the force of gravity. This technique guarantees a beautiful natural result thus avoiding a frozen look, without expression otherwise known as “poker face”. Finally the skin is tightened and excess skin has been removed. In view of the fact that the loops are placed deeply in the muscles of the face, they are not at all visible.

We talk about a simple lift when two loops are put in place at each side. The synonym for this is the S-MACS lift, in which the S means simple.
If you also suffer from tired eyes an extended lift may be the right procedure for you. This X-MACS lift, in which the X means extended, provides an extra lifting loop and this helps rejuvenate the lower eyelid.

Lipofilling can make all the difference between a successful face lift and an extraordinarily successful face lift. A persons own fat tissue is then injected in places where it has disappeared from, like deep nasolabial folds, the cheeks, lips or in a deep frontal wrinkle between the two brows.

Scar

These days we carry out the face lift by resorting to the “short scar lift” technique or the “MACS lift” (minimal access cranial suspension lift). This method allows for a smaller scar than with older techniques and the scar is practically invisible. We speak also of the mini-lift, where the length of the scar is much shorter. The effect of this lift is nevertheless not less effective.

There are no classical sutures visible in the case of a face lift. It is about sub-cutaneous sutures that dissolve spontaneously. The skin itself is glued. Nobody will be able to tell that your face has undergone a surgical operation.

Anaesthetic

Thanks to the refinement of operation techniques and the constant progress in the anaesthetic field a face lift is generally carried out under local anaesthetic. We administer to more nervous patients medication with a view to calming them in the short term. This sedation can be performed on several levels until the patient is asleep. In any case the classical narcosis is not obligatory for this type of operation. After the operation you will feel in good form because you will not feel the undesired after effects of a general anaesthetic. A nights stay in hospital is not necessary.

Recovery

You can leave the clinic on the day of the operation. You will receive classic pain killers like ibuprofen and paracetamol, to help you cope with any unpleasantness in the first 24 hours following surgery. Thereafter pain disappears very quickly.

You will need to return one day later in order for the plastic surgeon to check the results of the operation. The bandage will be taken off, the wound will be disinfected and the drain removed.

After this check up you will no longer need a bandage. You can from that moment wash your hair again, this will give you back a pleasant sensation of wellbeing. From then on you will need to disinfect the wound every morning and every night (isobetadine). Given that there are no visible stitches, there is no need to remove stitches.

The first week following surgery your face will be swollen going out might be a problem during the day, working from home may be possibility.
Normally by second week, the swelling is reduced but the skin may still be a little yellow. Make up will allow you to continue your social life without too many problems.

As of the third week your face will regain a normal appearance and consequently you will be able to go back to work again. Two months later you can evaluate the obtained results thanks to ‘before and after’ photos. We advise you to massage the scar in the first weeks following surgery with a greasy cream (hand cream, day cream, bio oil, sweet almond oil, scar ointment, silicon gel, for ex.)

The scar will soon be invisible to the naked eye thanks to the type of sewing (subcutaneous stitch and skin glue) and to the location of the incision (in front of the ear and between the hairs). Obviously every patient heals at a different rate.

Risks and eventual complications

Following this operation it is possible that the skin is less sensitive, more precisely in front of the ears. This is a temporary sensation. After some weeks or in some cases months, the sensitivity will return. The skin will restore itself and go back to its normal texture.

Among smokers healing can take a little longer, with the forming of scabs on the wound. So it is therefore strongly recommended that smoking be stopped before the operation, at least tempory.

Care and safety

The plastic surgeon proceeds with these operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

Even though the facelift is generally done under local anaesthetic with sedation, you are constantly monitored by the anaesthetist (automatic and repetitive measure of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram) one or two highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. This environment will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

The local anaesthetic allows not only an operation without pain but also a minimal risk of blood loss and bruising.

Your operation is carried out exclusively in a sterile environment. This is why we ask that you wash your hair thoroughly before your operation and this to reduce the risk of bacteria. During the operation, you will receive a mild antibiotic.

If you are taking anti-coagulant drugs, please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex. acetylsalicylic acid, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation, you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Related subjects

neck lift
correction of eyelid
lipofilling
peeling

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Lifting du visage

Lifting du visage

Il existent actuellement différentes appellations pour le lifting du visage. Vous entendrez parler du “mini lifting du visage”, du “lifting MACS”, du “S-lift”, du “soft lift”, du “SMAS lift”, du “sub-SMAS lift “ et du  “quick lift”.

Votre chirurgien plasticien déterminera avec vous quelle technique vous convient le mieux.

La vie commence à 40 ans! Il émane de vous une belle assurance, grâce à une belle maturité de vie, mais hélas, cela ne transparaît pas toujours à l’extérieur. Le temps qui passe démontre que votre peau a vécu ses jolies heures de jeunesse, elle perd en effet son élasticité et son rayonnement tend à diminuer. Vous remarquez l’apparition de plis entre le coin de votre bouche et la joue (ce que l’on appelle une ‘grimace’), entre le nez et le coin de la bouche (le pli nasolabial) et des rides d’expression.

Le vieillissement de la peau est dû à deux facteurs principaux. D’une part, s’exerce sur la peau la force de gravité et d’autre part, la peau perd son élasticité car il y a moins de tissu conjonctif. Les facteurs de stress, d’hérédité et les méfaits du soleil sont également en cause.

L’exercice suivant est tout simple et vous montre comment pourrait être votre nouveau visage. Regardez-vous dans un miroir. Ensuite, allongez-vous et regardez dans un miroir à main comment se fanent les plis de votre peau entre le nez, la bouche et la joue.  

Voulez-vous faire rayonner votre jeunesse intérieure ?

Quelles rides le lifting du visage peut-il effacer?

Un lifting du visage permet de remonter le temps. Grâce à cette intervention, vous paraîtrez 10 ans plus jeune. Les contours du visage sont remodelés et votre peau retrouve sa fermeté et son éclat de jeunesse.
Vous êtes plus jeune et cela se voit!

Le lifting du visage permet une légère correction des rides plus profondes. Le pli nasolabial et la grimace seront dès lors moins prononcés. Pour cela le lipofilling (lipostructure) peut être un traitment accèssoire parfait.

Pour corriger les rides plus superficielles, le peeling, le traitement au laser ou méthodes de “filling” sont plus adaptés (voir également le traitement des rides).

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Un lifting du visage ne se limite pas, selon nous, chirurgiens, au seul visage. Le cou et le menton sont également traités lors de cette intervention.

D'abord la graisse souscutanée du sous-menton est aspiré par une liposculpture. Par cela la peau du cou est détaché de façon qu'elle puisse être bien tendue après avec le lifting même.

Puis, une incision est faite au travers le pli naturel, juste devant l’oreille. Cette incision monte jusqu’au cuir chevelu. La peau est détachée jusqu’à mi-joue.  Ensuite, les muscles du visage et du cou sont tendus grâce à des boucles de suspension . Le chirurgien place verticalement ces boucles à contre courant de la force de gravité. Cette technique garantit un beau résultat très naturel. On évite ainsi un visage figé, sans expression, que l’on appelle “pokerface”. Enfin, la peau est à nouveau retendue et on élimine l’excédent de peau. Vu que les boucles sont placées profondément dans le muscle du visage, elles ne seront absolument pas visibles.

1La correction des muscles du visage et du cou est la spécificité du “SMAS lift’ (superficial myoaponeurotic system).

Nous parlons d'un lift simple lors que deux boucles sont placés à chacque coté. Le synonyme est S-MACS lift, dans lequel ce S veut dire Simple.
Si vous avez aussi des yeux fatigués, un lift étendu peut être la procédure indiquée. Ce X-MACS lift, dans lequel X veut dire extended ou grand, s'occupe d'un extra boucle juste en-dessous les paupières. Par ceci la paupière inférieure rajeunnit considerablement.

Et pour terminer un lipofilling peut faire la différence entre un lifting du visage réussi et un lifting avec du succès exeptionel. Alors votre propre tissu grais est donc injecté dans des endroits ou c'est disparu, comme dans des plis nasolabials profonds, les joues, lèvres ou dans un ride frontal profond.

Cicatrice

Actuellement, on procède au lifting du visage en recourant à la technique nouvelle de “short scar lift” ou “MACS lift” (minimal access cranial suspension lift). Cette méthode permet une cicatrice plus petite que les techniques anciennes et pratiquement invisible. On parle également de "mini-lifting", vu la taille infiniment petite de la cicatrice. L’effet liftant n’en reste pas moins maximal.

Il n’y a pas de sutures classiques, visibles dans le cas d’un lifting du visage. Il ne s’agit que de sutures sous-cutanées qui se résorbent naturellement. La peau est ensuite collée. Personne ne pourra remarquer que votre visage a subi une intervention chirurgicale.

Anesthésie

Grâce au raffinement des techniques opératoires et à un progrès constant dans le domaine de l’anesthésie, le lifting du visage se déroule généralement sous anesthésie locale. On administrera aux patients plus nerveux une médication visant à les apaiser à court terme. Cette anesthésie peut se passer à plusieurs niveaux, jusqu’à l’endormissement du patient. En tout cas, la narcose classique n’est pas de rigueur pour ce type d’intervention. Après l’intervention, vous vous sentirez en belle forme car vous ne ressentirez aucun effet non-désiré d’une narcose. Une nuitée à l’hôpital est superflue.

Rétablissement

Vous pourrez sortir de la clinique le jour-même de l’intervention. Vous recevrez les anti-douleurs classiques, l’ibuprofen et le paracétamol, pour faire face aux désagréments des premières 24 heures. Après la douleur disparait très vite.

Vous reviendrez un jour plus tard afin que le chirurgien contrôle le résultat de l’intervention. On enlèvera le bandage, désinfectera la plaie et retirera le drain.

Après cette visite de contrôle, vous n’aurez plus besoin de bandage. Vous pourrez dès lors à nouveau vous laver les cheveux, ce qui vous redonnera un agréable sentiment de bien-être. Dorénavant, vous désinfecterez la plaie chaque matin et chaque soir (avec de l'isobètadine). Vu qu’il n’y a pas de points de suture  visibles, il ne convient donc d’enlever aucun fil.

La première semaine suivant l’intervention, votre visage sera gonflé. Sortir de chez vous sera difficile sauf pendant le soir dans le noir. Par contre, travailler chez vous est possible.

Dès la seconde semaine, les enflements s’amenuisent mais la peau peut encore être un peu jaune. Le maquillage vous permettra de reprendre sans problèmes votre vie sociale.

Dès la troisième semaine, votre visage reprendra sont aspect normal. Vous pourrez alors reprendre le travail. Deux mois plus tard, vous pourrez évaluer le résultat obtenu, grâce aux photos ‘avant et après’.

Nous vous conseillons les premières semaines de masser la cicatrice avec une crème grasse (crème pour les mains, crème de jour, huile d’amandes douce, baume pour cicatrice, silicone, par ex.)

La cicatrice sera bientôt invisible à l’oeil nu, et ce grâce au type de suture (sous-cutanée et la peau collée) et à l’endroit précis choisi pour l’incision (près de l’oreille et dans le cuir chevelu). Mais chaque patient a son rythme propre de rétablissement.

Risques éventuels et complications

Après l’intervention, il est possible que la peau soit moins sensible, plus précisément devant l’oreille. Cet effet n’est que temporaire. Après quelques semaines, la sensibilité revient. La peau se rétablit et retrouve sa texture normale.

Chez les fumeurs, la guérison peut prendre un peu plus de temps, avec formation de croûtes sur la plaie. Il est donc fortement recommandé d’arrêter de fumer avant l’intervention, au moins temporairement.

Précautions et sécurité

Le chirurgien plasticien procède aux interventions dans les conditions de sécurité les plus optimales, entouré d’une équipe professionnelle.

Bien que le lifting du visage se fasse généralement sous anesthésie locale avec sédation, vous êtes constamment surveillé sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesure automatique et répétitive de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Une ou deux infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.

L’anesthésie locale permet non seulement une intervention sans douleurs, mais aussi un risque minimal de perte de sang ou d’apparition de bleus.

Votre opération se déroule exclusivement dans un environnement stérile. C’est pourquoi nous vous demandons de laver convenablement vos cheveux avant l’intervention et ce, pour diluer les bactéries. Pendant l’opération, vous recevrez également un léger antibiotique.

Si vous prenez des médicaments anti-coagulants, merci d’en aviser votre chirurgien esthétique au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalique, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.)

Après l’opération, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien plasticien à tout moment sur son n° de gsm personnel, si vous avez la moindre question.

Traitements liés

lifting du cou
correction des paupières
lipofilling
peeling

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos