NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Neck lift

Neck lift

As we get older the skin of the neck and chin weakens. A correction of the neck or double chin lift may then help to correct the excess skin and wrinkles.
With a neck lift the skin of the neck and double chin is smoothed. Most of the time a neck lift is carried out in combination with a face lift mainly because the skin of the face is also weakened and aged.

Technique

Firstly subcutaneous fat of the neck and chin is sucked away by means of liposculpture. By doing this the skin of the neck can be firmly pulled in an upwards direction. The skin is then detached in front of the ear, and sometimes behind the ear, and then pulled upwards. Not only the skin but also the underlying muscles of the neck are being pulled against the direction of the gravity, by means of traction loops.

Scar

These days we carry out the neck lift by resorting to the “short scar lift” technique or the “MACS lift” (minimal access cranial suspension lift). This method allows for a smaller scar than with older techniques and the scar is practically invisible. This scar is located in front of the ear and it ends in the side burn. We speak also of the mini-lift, seen as the length of the scar is much shorter. The effect of this lift is nevertheless not less effective.

There are no classical sutures visible in the case of a neck lift as they are sub-cutaneous sutures that dissolve spontaneously. The skin itself is glued. Nobody will be able to tell that your face has undergone a surgical operation.

Anaesthetic

Thanks to the refinement of operation techniques and the constant progress in the anaesthetic field a face lift is generally carried out under local anaesthetic. We administer to more nervous patients medication with a view to calming them in the short term. This sedation can be performed on several levels until the patient is asleep. In any case the classical narcosis is not obligatory for this type of operation. After the operation you will feel in good form because you will not feel the undesired after effects of a general anaesthetic. A nights stay in hospital is not necessary.

Recovery

You can leave the clinic on the day of the operation. You will receive classic pain killers like ibuprofen and paracetamol, to help you cope with any unpleasantness in the first 24 hours following surgery. Thereafter pain disappears very quickly.

You will need to return one day later in order for the surgeon to check the results of the operation. The bandage will be taken off, the wound will be disinfected and the drain removed.

Following this check up you will no longer need a bandage. You can from that moment wash your hair again; this will give you back a pleasant sensation of wellbeing. From then on you will need to disinfect the wound every morning and every night (isobetadine). Given that there are no visible stitches, there is no need to remove stitches.

The first week following surgery your neck will be swollen. You can wear a shawl or scarf to cover this. However working from home is possible.

We advise you to massage the scar during the first weeks with a greasy cream (hand cream, day cream, bio oil, sweet almond oil, scar ointment, silicon gel, for ex.).

The scar will soon be invisible to the naked eye, all this thanks to the type of sewing (subcutaneous stitch and skin glue) and also to the location of the incision (in front of the ear and between the hairs). Obviously every patient heals at a different rate.

The use of ice frictions or a cream for bruises is not always effective, but nonetheless harmless.

Risks and eventual complications

Following this operation it is possible that the skin is loses sensitivity, more precisely in front of the ears. This is a temporary sensation. After some weeks or in somes cases months, the sensitivity will return. The skin will restore itself and go back to it’s normal texture.

Among smokers healing can take a little longer, with the forming of scabs on the wound. So it is therefore strongly recommended that smoking be stopped before the operation, at least temporarily.

Care and safety

The plastic surgeon proceeds with these operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

Even though the facelift is generally done under local anaesthetic with sedation, you are constantly monitored by the anaesthetist (automatic and repetitive measure of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram) and one or two highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. This environment will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

The objective of a local anaesthetic is not only to eliminate pain, but also to reduce bruising, and ensuring minimal blood loss.

Your operation is carried out exclusively in a sterile environment. This is why we ask you to wash your hair thoroughly before your operation and this to reduce the risk of bacteria. During the operation, you will receive a mild antibiotic.

If you are taking anti-coagulant drugs, please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex. acetylsalicylic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Related treatments

face lift
eyelid correction
lipofilling
liposculpture

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Lifting du cou

Lifting du cou

Avec l’âge, la peau du cou et du menton se détendent et perdent leur élasticité. Une correction du cou et un lifting du double menton permet d’enlever la peau excédante et ridée.
Un lifting du cou se réalise souvent en combinaison avec un lifting facial, facelift, car la peau du visage subit également les ravages du temps.

Technique

En premier lieu, le chirurgien procède  à une liposculpture à la base du cou et du double menton, permettant d’aspirer les surcharges graisseuses. Le chirurgien esthétique pratique une incision devant et derrière l’oreille, autour du lobe de l’oreille, de cette manière, il peut également corriger les muscles inférieurs afin d’obtenir un résultat parfait. La peau et les muscles du cou sont tendus grâce à des boucles de suspension, placés à contre-sens de la force de gravité.

Cicatrice

Actuellement, on procède au lifting du visage en recourant à une technique
nouvelle, le “short scar lift” ou “MACS lift” (minimal access cranial suspension lift). En comparaison avec d’autres techniques anciennes, cette méthode ne laisse qu’une petite cicatrice pratiquement invisible car elle se trouve juste devant l’oreille et dans le cuir chevelu. On parle également de "mini-lifting", vu la taille infiniment petite de la cicatrice. L’effet liftant n’en reste pas moins maximal.

Il n’y a pas de sutures classiques, visibles lors d’un lifting du cou. Il s’agit de sutures sous-cutanées qui se résorbent naturellement. La peau est ensuite recollée à l’aide d’une colle tissulaire. Personne ne remarquera que votre visage a subi une intervention chirurgicale.

Anesthésie

Grâce au raffinement des techniques opératoires et à un progrès constant dans le domaine de l’anesthésie, le lifting du cou se déroule généralement sous anesthésie locale. La narcose classique n’est pas de rigueur pour ce type d’intervention. Après l’intervention vous serez en forme car il n’y a pas d’effet secondaire d’une narcose. Une nuitée à l’hôpital n’est pas nécessaire.

Rétablissement

Vous pourrez rentrer chez vous le soir même. L’anesthésie locale poursuit son effet durant quelques heures. Des antidouleurs  classiques comme l’ibuprofen et le paracétamol vous seront prescrits pour faire face aux désagréments éventuels pendant les premières vingt-quatre heures. La douleur s’estompera graduellement.
Votre chirurgien plasticien vous fixera rendez-vous le lendemain afin de contrôler le résultat de l’intervention. Le bandage et le drain seront retirés, la plaie sera désinfectée.
Après cette visite de contrôle, vous n’aurez plus besoin de bandage. Vous pourrez dès lors à nouveau vous laver les cheveux, ce qui vous donnera un agréable sentiment de bien-être. Vous désinfecterez la plaie chaque matin et soir avec de l’isobétadine.

La semaine suivant l’intervention, votre cou sera gonflé. Vous pourrez porter une écharpe en guise de camouflage.

Pendant les premières semaines nous vous conseillons de masser la cicatrice avec une crème grasse (baume cicatrisant, crème pour les mains, crème de jour, huile d’amandes douce ou autres).

La cicatrice sera invisible grâce à ce type de suture sous-cutané, l’incision suit le pli naturel de l’oreille et on ne devine pratiquement rien de la cicatrice après quelques temps. Evidemment, le processus du temps de guérison dépend d’un individu à l’autre.

L'usage de compresses glacées ou d'une crème pour les hématomes est inoffensive mais peu efficace.

Risques éventuels et complications

Après l’intervention, il est possible que la peau soit moins sensible, plus précisément devant l’oreille. Cet effet n’est que temporaire. Après quelques semaines, la sensibilité revient. La peau se rétablit et retrouve sa texture normale.

Chez les fumeurs, la guérison peut prendre plus de temps. Le risque de formation de croûtes sur la plaie est plus grand chez les fumeurs. Il est fortement recommandé d’arrêter de fumer avant l’intervention.

Précautions et sécurité

Le chirurgien plasticien procède aux interventions dans des conditions de sécurité optimales, entouré d’une équipe médicale professionnelle.

Le lifting du cou se pratique généralement sous anesthésie locale et l’on vous administre un léger sédatif. Vous êtes constamment surveillé sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesure automatique et répétitive de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Des infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.

L’anesthésie locale permet non seulement une intervention sans douleurs, mais aussi un risque minimal de perte de sang ou d’apparition d’hématomes.

Votre intervention se déroule dans un environnement stérile. C’est pourquoi nous vous demandons de laver soigneusement vos cheveux avant l’intervention et ce pour éliminer les bactéries. Pendant l’intervention un léger antibiotique vous sera administré.

Si vous souffrez de diabètes, vous êtes fumeur, vous prenez des médicaments anticoagulants veuillez en aviser votre chirurgien esthétique au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalicylique, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan et autres).

Après l’intervention, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien plasticien à tout moment sur son portable, si vous avez un souci ou si vous avez la moindre question.

Traitements apparentés

lifting du visage
correction des paupières
lipofilling
liposculpture

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos