NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Breast reduction

Breast reduction

Breasts that are imposing and heavy can be the cause of your torments. You may have the feeling that your chest is not in harmony with the rest of your body and that it can eat away at your confidence.
The weight of your breasts can ger in the way when you do sport or try to find clothes or underwear that you like…it is frustrating. Bra straps can in this case can cut into the shoulders or bring on back problems.
The breast reduction operation can offer you a solution to these frustations and sufferings. A smaller cup size will give you back the sense of freedom and self confidence that you have been deprived of.

What happens?

Its about not only removing the excess tissue of the gland but also the excess skin. The nipple is lifted upwards and most of the time it is reduced. The mammary gland is reshaped in accordance with the patients request and fixed to the chest muscle in order to obtain an aesthetically optimal result, in this way avoiding the settling of the breasts. In the case of extremely heavy breasts, the surgeon will have recourse with another technique.

Scar

A breast reduction cannot be done without scars. Currently ‘the vertical scar technique’ is the standard technique. The previous anchor scar has been reduced to a vertical scar. The scar around the nipple has not changed. This scar will gradually fade away with time.

Anaesthetic

As this operation is rather stretched out, it is carried out, for your comfort, under general anaesthetic. It consists of a light narcosis, enough to assure that you stay asleep, without pain, during the whole of the operation. You will be wakened about 5 minutes after the end of the operation and you will quickly come around. You will not stay asleep nor feel dozy. A complementary local anaesthetic will reduce blood loss and eventual pain.

Precautions

The plastic surgeon proceeds with these operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

You are constantly watched over under monitoring by the anesthetist (automatic and repetitive measures of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram). One or more highly qualified nurses will equally supervise.
The medical team rigorously observe sterility rules. During the operation you will receive preventively a mild antibiotic in order to avoid any infection. These surroundings will guarantee that you have faultless safety.
Highly qualified nurses will take care of you during an eventual nights stay at the clinic.

If you are taking coagulant drugs, please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex. acetylsalicylic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Recovery

Normally, you will stay a one night in at the clinic for safety reasons. Before you leave the drain is removed and your bandages will be changed.

You will feel little pain following your operation. You will receive classic pain killers after the operation as like ibuprofen and paracetamol to help you cope with any eventual discomfort in the first few days after surgery.
You will be absent from work for about two weeks. The surgeon will issue you a certificate to this effect. The incapacity to work can eventually be prolonged if necessary. We recommend that you stay calm during the first week following your operation.

All sutures dissolve by themselves. Thus no stitches to be removed. After the surgery you will have to wear a support bra for a period of 6 weeks by day. A sports bra with a broad elastic band and adapted to your new cup size will do. After this period you will be able to wear again the usual underwear. Showering will not be possible before two weeks.

You will change your bandage after one week by yourself. The plastic surgeon will show you how to do this.

Risks and eventual complications

If you are in good health, do not worry there are no risks linked to this operation.

Your recovery can take longer if you smoke or suffer from obesity. Due to diminished vascularisation we can sometimes notice the forming of scabs around the nipple. And the vertical scar too will take longer to heal. With or without these complications the result be just as beautiful. Your surgeon will make his knowledge available to you in order to help you best.

Other questions on breast reduction

How can I choose the size that is best for me?
The majority of women want to get back an average breast size, this is to say a C cup. You will be able to discuss this with your surgeon in order to choose the adequate size, in harmony with the rest of your body.

Am I still  able to breast feed ?

No, seen as the nipple is raised and that the milk channels have been incised.

How about the sensitivity of the nipple?

It is impossible to know in advance. In the case of very large ptotic breasts, that aren't sensitive anymore, sensitivity of the nipple can return.

Do I have to have an annual examination?

No this is not necessary

How can I proceed with screening for breast cancer?

Just like before. The mammography and echograph can be carried out without any problem. Nevertheless you should inform the radiologist about your operation (notably on the subject of the internal scar tissue).

Related treatments

breast uplift
breast enlargement
nipple reduction
inverted nipple

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Réduction mammaire

Réduction mammaire

Des seins imposants et lourds peuvent être la cause de vos tourments. Vous pouvez avoir le sentiment que votre poitrine n’est pas en harmonie avec le reste de votre corps et cela peut miner votre confiance en vous.
Le poids de votre poitrine peut vous gêner lorsque vous pratiquez un sport, ou tentez de trouver un vêtement ou un article de lingerie qui vous plaît, c’est frustrant. Les bretelles de soutien-gorge peuvent dans ce cas vous lacérer les épaules et occasionner des problèmes de dos.
Une réduction mammaire peut vous offrir la solution à ces frustrations et ces souffrances. Une taille de bonnet plus petit peut vous rendre ce sentiment de liberté et votre confiance en vous.

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Il s’agit de retirer non seulement l’excédent de tissu de la glande mais aussi l’excédent de peau. Le mamelon est lifté vers le haut et la plupart du temps également réduit. La glande mammaire est remodelée selon la demande de la patiente et ramenée contre le muscle pectoral afin d’atteindre un résultat esthétiquement optimal, qui évitera l’affaissement de la poitrine. Dans le cas d’une poitrine extrêmement lourde, le chirurgien aura recours à une autre technique.

Cicatrice

Une réduction mammaire ne peut se faire sans cicatrice. Actuellement, la 'technique de cicatrice verticale’ est la technique standard. La technique précédente de cicatrice en forme d’ancre s’est réduite à une cicatrice verticale. La cicatrice autour du mamelon ne change pas. La cicatrice s’estompera avec le temps.

Anesthésie

Comme cette intervention est assez étendue, elle se déroule, pour votre confort, sous anesthésie générale. Il s’agit d’une narcose légère, suffisante pour vous assurer de rester endormie, sans douleurs, tout au long de l’intervention. Vous serez éveillée 5 minutes après la fin de l’intervention et reprendrez rapidement vos esprits. Vous ne resterez donc pas endormie ou ne vous sentirez pas somnolente, comme avec des narcoses d'antan. Une anesthésie locale complémentaire veillera à réduire les pertes de sang et les douleurs éventuelles.

Précautions

Le chirurgien esthétique procède aux interventions dans les conditions de sécurité optimales, entouré d’une équipe médicale professionnelle.
 
Vous êtes constamment surveillée sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesures automatiques et répétitives de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Des infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également.

L’équipe médicale observe rigoureusement les règles de stérilité. Durant l’intervention, vous recevrez préventivement un léger antibiotique afin d’éviter toute infection. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.
Des infirmières diplômées s’occuperont de vous durant votre éventuelle nuitée à l’hôpital.

Si vous prenez des médicaments anticoagulants, veuillez en aviser votre chirurgien plasticien au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalicylique, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.).

Après l’intervention, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien esthétique à tout moment sur son portable, si vous avez un souci ou si vous avez la moindre question.

Rétablissement

En principe, vous restez une nuit en clinique pour des raisons de sécurité. Avant votre départ, l’on retire le drain et l’on change votre bandage.

Vous ressentirez peu de douleurs après l’intervention. Vous recevrez les antidouleurs classiques, comme l’ibuprofen et le paracétamol pour faire face à d’éventuels gènes des premiers jours.

Le chirurgien plasticien vous prescrira une attestation d’incapacité de travail pour deux semaines. Celle-ci pourra éventuellement être prolongée si nécessaire.  Vous pourrez reprendre la plupart de vos activités quotidiennes après une semaine. Nous vous recommandons de vivre calmement pendant la première semaine après l’intervention.

Toutes les sutures se résorbent spontanément, il n’y a donc pas de fils à enlever.  Nous vous recommandons de porter un soutien-gorge de sport adapté à votre taille, les six premières semaines suivant l'opération. Ensuite vous pourrez porter votre lingerie habituelle. Prendre une douche ne sera pas possible les deux premières semaines.

Le chirurgien plasticien renouvellera votre bandage après une semaine. Vous veillerez à ce que le bandage reste bien en place.

Risques éventuels et complications

Si vous êtes en bonne santé, ne craignez aucun risque lié à l’intervention.

Votre rétablissement peut prendre plus de temps, si vous fumez ou souffrez d’obésité. Par une vascularisation faible l’on peut parfois observer formation de croûtes autour du mamelon. La cicatrice verticale mettra plus de temps à se rétablir. Dans ce cas, il sera primordial de soigner quotidiennement la plaie avec de l’isobétadine.
Avec ou sans ces complications, le résultat est tout aussi beau. Votre chirurgien plasticien mettra son savoir-faire à votre service pour vous aider au mieux.

D'autres questions sur la réduction mammaire

Comment puis-je choisir la taille qu’il me faut?

La majorité des femmes souhaitent retrouver une poitrine moyenne, c’est-à-dire un bonnet  B ou C. Vous en discuterez bien entendu avec votre chirurgien afin de choisir le volume adéquat, en harmonie avec le reste de votre corps.

Puis-je encore allaiter mon bébé ?

Non, vu que le mamelon est rehaussé et que les canaux lactifères ont étés incisés.

Qu’en est-il de la sensibilité du mamelon?

Il est impossible de le prévoir. La sensibilité peut revenir lorsqu’une poitrine trop importante était devenue insensible.

Dois-je me rendre à un contrôle annuel?

Non, ce n’est pas nécessaire.

Comment puis-je procéder à un dépistage du cancer du sein?

Comme auparavant. La mammographie et l’échographie peuvent s’effectuer sans aucun problème. Informez cependant le radiologue que vous avez subi une intervention (notamment au sujet du tissu cicatriciel interne).

Traitements liés

lifting mammaire
augmentation mammaire
réduction du mamelon
mammelons rentrés

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos