NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Male chest reduction (gynaecomasty)

Male chest reduction / Gynecomastia

The cause for an abnormal formation of the male chest is not clearly identified. This phenomenon  can appear as of the age of 10 years. We sometimes find that the  formation of the chest can be a secondary effect of medication. Sometimes, it can equally stem from a excess of weight.

The male chest manifests itself in several shapes. Sometimes it is to do with a simple excess of hardened skin, situated behind the nipple, which can prove to be painful. In addition it can also develop an arch as with women, leaving the appearance of breasts, visible underneath T-shirts. These phenomena can have a major psychological impact. In this case, doing sport, swimming, going to the sauna can quite simply become a nightmare…up until the point that you decide not to do these types of activities anymore.

What happpens?

The surgery consists of removing excess fat or gland. An ultrasound will accurately show at which level the excess is situated. The excess of fat is sucked out by means of vibroliposculpture. This very fast vibrating liposculpture also shatters the glandular tissue, so that this also can be sucked away. If nevertheless excess gland tissue should remain, this is removed via an incision in the nipple.

Scar

More than three quarters of patients obtain a perfect result by means of vibroliposculpture of the breast. Because the glandular tissue and fat is aspirated through a 4 mm cannula via the armpit there is no scar.

In a minority of cases the abundant gland tissue has to be removed via the nipple. The wound is stitched subcutaneously and glued, which leaves a practically invisible scar. Any remaining excess skin is not cut away because this skin will eventually retract.

Anaesthetic

The local anesthetic most of the time is sufficient. In any case, a classical narcosis is not necessary. Following the operation, you will be in good form. You will not feel any undesired side effects that you do with a classical narcosis. In most cases it is not necessary to stay overnight in the hospital.
The local anaesthetic allows not only an operation without pain but also a minimal risk of blood loss and of the appearance of bruises.

Care and safety

The plastic surgeon proceeds with the operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

Even though the male chest reduction is generally carried out under local anaesthetic, you are constantly monitored by the anaesthetist (automatic and repetitive measure of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram). One or two highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. This environment will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

Your operation is carried out exclusively in a sterile environment. In some cases we administer antibiotics. By working this way we can guarantee the upper most safety for you as patient.

If you are taking anti-coagulant drugs, please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex., acetylsalicylic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.).

After the operation you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Recovery

You are able to leave the clinic after one hour of rest. The pain is almost non-existent. You will receive classical pain killers, ibuprofen and paracetamol, to help deal with any eventual pain. After 1 or 2 days you may return to work.

In most cases a drain is not necessary. You will wear an elasticated bandage day and night around the thorax for four weeks. This band allows the excess skin to adhere again nicely to the underlying muscles. Swelling may last for up to 2 to 3 weeks following surgery.

Eventual risks

If you are in good health, you have nothing to worry about as there is no risk linked to this operation. The area around the nipple can temporarily lose sensitivity. Infections are rare. The thorax band helps to prevent any build up of fluid and blood.

Related treatments

liposculpture

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Gynecomastie (poitrine chez les hommes)

Gynecomastie / poitrine chez les hommes

La cause d’une formation anormale de poitrine chez un homme n’est pas clairement identifiée. Ce phénomène peut apparaître dès l’âge de dix ans. L’on retrouve parfois la formation de poitrine comme effet secondaire de certains médicaments. Parfois, elle peut provenir également d’un excès de poids.

La poitrine chez les hommes se manifeste sous plusieurs formes. Parfois, il s’agit simplement d’un excédent de peau endurcie, située derrière le mammelon, qui peut s’avérer être douloureux. Par ailleurs peut aussi se développer une cambrure comme chez les femmes, laissant apparaître des seins, visibles sous un T-shirt. Ce phénomène peut avoir un impact psychologique important. Dans ce contexte, faire du sport, nager, vous rendre au sauna peut tout simplement devenir un enfer…jusqu'à vous décider à vous priver de ce type d’activités.

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Il s’agit de retirer l’excédent de graisse ou de glande. Une échographie montrera à quel niveau se situe exactement l’excédent . L’excès de graisse est aspiré grâce à une vibroliposculpture. Cette liposculpture très vibrante dissout les tissus et résorbe en même temps l’excèdent de graisse.
Si il y à de l’excédent de tissus ceux-ci seront enlevés par une incision via le mamelon.

Cicatrice

Plus des trois quarts des patients traités d’une vibroliposculpture de la poitrine atteignent un résultat parfait. Puisque les glandes et graisses sont aspirées par un petit tube d’environ 4 mm sous les aisselles il n’y a pas de cicatrice.

La plaie est suturée et collée sous-cutané, et laisse une cicatrice presque invisible. D’éventuels excédents de peau ne seront pas enlevés car la peau se détend spontanément.

Anesthésie

L’anesthésie locale est la plupart du temps suffisante. En tout cas, une narcose classique n’est pas nécessaire. Après l’opération, vous vous sentirez en belle forme. Vous ne ressentirez aucun effet non-désiré d’une narcose classique. Il n’est en général pas nécessaire d’envisager une nuitée à l’hôpital.
L’anesthésie locale permet non seulement une intervention sans douleurs, mais aussi un risque minimal de perte de sang ou d’apparition de bleus.

Précautions et sécurité

Le chirurgien plasticien procède aux interventions dans les conditions de sécurité les plus optimales, entouré d’une équipe professionnelle.

Bien que la gynécomastie se fasse généralement sous anesthésie locale, vous êtes constamment surveillé sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesure automatique et répétitive de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Une ou plusieurs infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.

Votre opération se déroule exclusivement dans un environnement stérile. Des antibiotiques seront administrés, ce qui garantit la plus haute sécurité pour le patient.

Si vous prenez des médicaments anticoagulants, merci d’en aviser votre chirurgien plasticien au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalicylique, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.)

Après l’opération, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien plasticien à tout moment sur son portable personnel, si vous avez la moindre question.

Rétablissement

Vous pourrez rentrer chez vous après une heure de repos. La douleur est quasiment absente. Vous recevrez les anti-douleurs classiques, l’ibuprofen et le paracétamol, pour faire face aux éventuelles douleurs. Après 1 ou 2 jours, vous pourrez reprendre le travail.

Un redon n'est pas nécessaire dans la pluspart des cas. Vous porterez jour et nuit un bandage élastique autour du thorax durant 2 semaines. Ce bandage a pour but de maintenir la peau de façon esthétique et faire en sorte qu’elle adhère aux muscles de la poitrine. Il est tout à fait normal que votre peau enfle les 2 voire 3 premières semaines.

Risques éventuels

Si vous êtes en bonne santé, ne craignez aucun risque lié à l’intervention. La zone autour du mammelon peut être temporairement moins sensible. Les infections sont très rares. Le bandage autour du thorax permet d’éviter l‘accumulation de liquide et saignements.

Traitements apparentés

liposculpture

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos