NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Breast uplift (mammopexy - mastopexy)

Breast uplift / mammopexy / mastopexy

A pregnancy, loss of weight, age or breast feeding can have a huge impact on the firmness of your breasts. The breasts loosen and often to the extent of drooping. Droopy breasts can happen to small as well as to large breasts.

  • The uplift is suitable for loose breasts that are of a normal size.
  • In the case of droopy or more imposing breasts, the breast uplift would be accompanied by a breast reduction (see breast reduction).
  • Small loose breasts can gain a cup size or more, at the same time as having the uplift. In this specific case the surgeon places an implant behind the muscle in order to enlarge the breast size (see breast augmentation).

What happens?

At the time of the lift, the breasts undergo an important transformation. The mammary gland is reshaped in accordance to the patient’s requirements and then brought back against the muscle in order to obtain a permanent result. Next, the plastic surgeon removes the excess skin, lifts the nipple and in some cases reduces its size. This will result in a firmer and younger bust that a swimsuit or a top will emphasize!

Scar

In the case of a breast uplift a scar is inevitable, these days the 'vertical scar technique’ is standard practice. The previous anchor scar has been reduced to a vertical scar. The scar around the nipple has not changed; this scar will gradually fade away with time.

Anaesthetic

Thanks to a refinement in operation techniques and a constant progress in the anaesthetic field these last few years, the breast uplift is carried out under local anaesthetic accompanied by a mild sedation. After the operation you will feel fit and well. It is not necessary to envisage a night’s stay at the clinic.

Recovery

The operation takes place in the morning and you can leave the clinic the same evening.
You will need to return one or two days later in order to have a check up with the plastic surgeon, take out the drain and replace your bandage.

Normally you will not feel any post-operative pain. You will receive classic pain killers like ibuprofen and paracetamol, to help you face any eventual discomfort.

You will need take a week off work and for this you will receive a medical certificate from us. We equally recommend to live life at a slower rhythm the first week following your operation.

All sutures dissolve by themselves. Thus no stitches need to be removed. After the surgery you will have to wear a support bra for a period of 6 weeks during the day, one with a broad elastic band and adjusted to your new cup size is recommended. After this period you will be able to wear normal underwear again. You will not be able to shower for the first two weeks following your surgery.

You will change your bandage by yourself after one week; the plastic surgeon will show you how to do this.

Precaution

The plastic surgeon proceeds with these operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

Even though the breast uplift is generally done under local anaesthetic and sedation, you are constantly watched over under monitoring by the anaesthetist (automatic and repetitive measure of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram). One or more highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. This environment will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

The local anaesthetic allows not only an operation without pain but also a minimal risk of blood loss and the appearance of bruises.

If you are taking anticoagulant drugs, please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex. acetylsalicylic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation, you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Risks and eventual complications

If you are in good health, you have nothing to worry about as there is no risk linked to this operation.

The healing process can be slowed down if you smoke or suffer from obesity. Due to diminished vascularisation we can sometimes notice the forming of scabs around the nipple. In these cases the vertical scar too will take longer to heal and you will need to treat this on a daily basis with an isobetadine cream. With or without these complications the final aesthetic result will be just as beautiful. Your surgeon will make his knowledge available to you in order to help you best.

Other questions about the breast uplift

Can I still breast feed?

No, it is not possible to breastfeed following an uplift procedure because the milk ducts under the nipple are divided when the nipples are being re-positioned.

What about the sensitivity of the nipple?

You may experience a loss of sensitivity following the breast uplift surgery. This can be explained by the fact that the nipple has been re-positioned and the closeness to nerve endings.

Do I have to have an annual check-up?

No it is not necessary.

Do I have to have a breast cancer screening?

Just as you would have done prior to the surgery, normally the mammography and ultrasound can be carried out without any problems. Nevertheless do inform the radiologist of your operation (notably on the subject of the internal scar formation).

Related subjects

breast enlargement
breast reduction
inverted nipple

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Lifting des seins

Lifting des seins / mammopexie / mastopexie

Une grossesse, une perte de poids, l’âge ou l'allaitement peuvent avoir un grand impact sur la fermeté de votre poitrine. Les seins se relâchent, s’amenuisent jusqu’à souvent en arriver à pendre. Les seins tombants peuvent concerner les seins de petite ou plus grande taille.

  • Le lifting conviendra pour des seins relâchés, qui sont en principe d’une taille moyenne.
  • Dans le cas d’une poitrine plus imposante, le lifting sera accompagné d’une réduction mammaire (cfr également réduction mammaire).
  • Les petits seins relâchés pourront gagner une ou deux tailles de bonnet en même temps du lifting. Dans ce cas précis, le chirurgien place un implant derrière le muscle afin d’augmenter la taille du sein (cfr également augmentation mammaire)

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Lors d’un lifting, la poitrine connaît une importante métamorphose. La glande mammaire est remodelée selon la demande de la patiente et ramenée contre le muscle pectoral afin d’atteindre un résultat permanent. Ensuite, le chirurgien retire l’excédent de peau, rehausse le mammelon et parfois le réduit. Et voilà le résultat…une poitrine ferme, jeune, qu’un maillot ou un petit top mettront joliment en valeur!

Cicatrice

Dans le cas d’un lifting des seins, la cicatrice est inévitable. Actuellement, la 'technique de cicatrice verticale’ est la technique standard. La technique précédente de cicatrice en forme d’ancre s’est réduite à une cicatrice verticale. La cicatrice autour du mammelon ne change pas. La cicatrice deviendra mois visible avec le temps.

Anesthésie

Grâce au raffinement des techniques opératoires et à un progrès constant dans le domaine de l’anesthésie, le lifting des seins se déroule sous anesthésie locale avec sédation. Après l’intervention, vous vous sentirez en belle forme. Il n’est donc pas nécessaire d’envisager une nuitée à l’hôpital.

Rétablissement

L’intervention a lieu le matin et vous pouvez rentrer chez vous le soir-même.
Vous reviendrez 2 jours plus tard afin que le chirurgien contrôle le résultat de l’intervention, retire le drain et remplace votre bandage.

Vous ne ressentirez en principe aucune douleur post-opératoire. Vous recevrez les anti-douleurs classiques, comme l’ibuprofen et le paracétamol, pour faire face aux éventuels désagréments.

Vous vous absentrez une semaine de votre travail. Vous recevrez à cet effet une attestation de notre part. Nous vous recommandons également de vivre à un rythme calme la 1ère semaine qui suit votre intervention.

Toutes les sutures se dissoudrent spontanément. Il n'y en a donc pas pour rétireer. Durant 6 semaines, vous devrez porter pendant la journée un soutien-gorge spécial. Un soutien-gorge de sport adapté à votre taille, avec une large bande conviendra par ailleurs également. Ensuite, vous pourrez à nouveau porter votre lingerie habituelle. La douche ne sera possible pendant les deux premières semaines.

Le chirurgien plasticien renouvellera après une semaine votre bandage. Vous veillerez chez vous à ce que le bandage reste bien en place.

Précautions

Le chirurgien esthétique procède aux interventions dans les conditions de sécurité les plus optimales, entouré d’une équipe professionnelle.
 
Bien que le lifting des seins se fasse généralement sous anesthésie locale accompagnée par une sédation, vous êtes constamment surveillée sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesures automatiques et répétitives de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Une ou plusieurs infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.

L’anesthésie locale permet non seulement une intervention sans douleurs, mais aussi un risque minimale de perte de sang ou d’apparition de bleus.

Si vous prenez des médicaments coagulants, merci d’en aviser votre chirurgien plasticien au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalique, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.)

Après l’opération, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien esthétique à tout moment sur son n° de gsm personnel, si vous avez la moindre question.

Risques éventuels et complications

Si vous êtes en bonne santé, ne craignez aucun risque lié à l’intervention.

Toutefois, la guérison peut être ralentie si vous fumez ou souffrez d'obésité. Par une vascularisation faible l’on peut parfois observer formation de croûtes autour du mammelon. La cicatrice verticale mettra plus de temps à se rétablir. Dans ce cas, vous soignerez quotidiennement la plaie avec une pommade à l’isobetadine. 
Avec ou sans ces complications, le résultat esthétique final sera définitivement beau. Votre chirurgien plasticien mettra son savoir-faire et son expérience à votre service pour faire face à d’éventuels problèmes de cicatrisation.

D'autres questions sur le lifting des seins

Puis-je encore donner le sein à mon bébé?

Non, vu que le mammelon est rehaussé et que les canaux qui amènent le lait sont incisés pour cela.

Qu’en est-il de la sensibilité du mammelon?

Celle-ci peut diminuer suite à un lifting des seins. Cela s’explique par le fait que le mammelon est déplacé, entraînant ainsi la coupure de petits nerfs très fins.

Dois-je me rendre à un contôle annuel?

Non, ce n’est pas nécessaire.

Comment puis-je procéder à un dépistage du cancer du sein

Comme auparavant. La mammographie et l’échographie peuvent s’effectuer sans aucun problème. Informez cependant le radiologue de votre intervention (notamment au sujet du tissu cicatriciel interne)

Traitements liés

augmentation mammaire
réduction mammaire
réduction du mamelon
mammelons rentrés

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos