NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Armlift (arm correction)

Arm lift - arm correction

As time goes by or following a significant weight loss, the skin of the arms can lose its elasticity. This can lead to an excess of skin, often flabby, at the back of the upper arms. Sport can help to tone the upper arms but will not prevent slackness of the skin. A lift will help tighten the skin of the upper arms. If the upper arms are too big, the surgeon may proceed with some liposculpture.

What happens?

The surgeon removes the excess skin situated on the inner side of the arms. In addition to this the skin is re-tightened in an aesthetic way.  If necessary, the surgeon can suck out the excess fat.

Scar

The incision is done in the least visible place, namely on the inner side of the upper arm. The stitches are made under the skin. The skin itself is then glued together.

Anaesthetic

Thanks to a refinement in operation techniques and a constant progress in the anaesthetic field these last few years, the correction of the arms is carried out under a local anaesthetic with a mild sedation. After the operation, you will feel fit and well. It is not necessary to envisage a night’s stay at the clinic.

Recovery

You are able to leave the clinic the same day as your operation. There will be no drains. This operation causes little pain. It is possible that you may feel some discomfort in the first 24 hours. You will receive classical pain killers such as ibuprofen and paracetamol.

You will be absent from work for about one week. A week after the surgery you will be able to change the bandage by your self. In the first few months the scar may be red and hard but this will progressively disappear and the hardness will soften in the year that follows your surgery. Your plastic surgeon will give you advice in order to accelerate the process. It is advised to massage the scar in the first weeks with a greasy cream (Nivea hand cream, day cream, bio oil, almond oil or scar ointment or others).

The plastic surgeon will evaluate the results two months after the operation, based on photos taken before the surgery.

Care and safety

The plastic surgeon proceeds with these operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

Even though the arm lift is generally done under local anaesthetic, you are constantly monitored by the anaesthetist (automatic and repetitive measures of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram). One or two highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. This environment will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

The local anaesthetic allows not only an operation without pain but also a minimal risk of blood loss and bruising.

If you are taking anti-coagulant drugs, please inform your doctor of this first (for ex. acetylsalicylic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation, you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Risks and eventual complications

If you are in good health, you have nothing to worry about as there is almost no risk linked to this operation.
Infections are very rare. The arm lift gives very good results. You can quickly go back to wearing short sleeved t-shirts and be proud to do so!

Related treatments

thigh lift

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Lifting (correction des bras)

Lifting - correction des bras

Au fil du temps ou suite à une perte de poids conséquente, la peau des bras peut perdre son élasticité. Cela entraîne un excédent de peau, souvent flasque, à l’arrière des avant-bras. Le sport aide à tonifier les bras mais n’empêchera pas le relâchement de la peau. Le lifting permet de tendre à nouveau la peau de la partie supérieure des bras. Si les parties supérieures des bras sont trop grosses, le chirurgien esthétique peut procéder parallèlement à une liposculpture.

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Le chirurgien élimine l’excédent de peau situé à l’intérieur des bras. Par ailleurs, la peau est retendue de façon esthétique.  Si nécessaire, le chirurgien plasticien aspire la graisse excédente.

Cicatrice

L’incision se fait à l’endroit le moins visible, c'est à dire à l’intérieur de la partie supérieure du bras. La suture est sous-cutanée. La peau est ensuite collée.

Anesthésie

Grâce au raffinement des techniques opératoires et à un progrès constant dans le domaine de l’anesthésie ces dernières années, le lifting du bras se déroule sous une anesthésie locale avec sédation légère. Après l’intervention, vous vous sentirez en pleine forme. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’envisager une nuitée à la clinique.

Rétablissement

Vous quittez la clinique le jour-même de l’intervention. Un drain n'est pas nécessaire. Cette intervention est peu douloureuse. Il est possible que vous ressentiez un peu de gêne les premières 24 heures. Vous recevrez à cet effet des anti-douleurs classiques, comme l’ibuprofen ou le paracétamol.

Vous serez absent environ une semaine de votre lieu de travail. Une semaine après l’intervention, le chirurgien plasticien vous fixera rendez-vous pour un contrôle et votre pansement sera changé. Les premiers mois, la cicatrice peut être rouge et durcie. Mais elle s’estompera et s’assouplira dans l’année qui suit. Votre chirurgien plasticien vous aidera pour accélérer le processus de maturation naturelle. Il est conseillé de masser la cicatrice les premières semaines avec une crème grasse (nivea crème pour les mains, crème de jour, huile d’amandes douce, baume pour cicatrice, ou autres)

Le chirurgien plasticien évaluera les résultats deux mois après l’intervention, sur base des photos prises avant l'intervention.

Précautions et sécurité

Le chirurgien plasticien procède aux interventions dans les conditions de sécurité les plus optimales, entouré d’une équipe professionnelle.

Bien que le lifting du bras se fasse sous anesthésie locale, vous êtes constamment surveillé. Sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesures automatiques et répétitives de la pression sanguine, mesures constantes de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Une ou deux infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.

L’anesthésie locale permet non seulement une intervention sans douleurs, mais aussi un risque minimal de perte de sang ou d’apparition de bleus.

Si vous prenez des médicaments anticoagulants, merci d’en aviser votre chirurgien plasticien au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalicylique, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.)

Après l’opération, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien plasticien à tout moment sur son portable personnel, si vous avez la moindre question.

Risques éventuels et complications

Si vous êtes en bonne santé, ne craignez aucun risque lié à l’intervention. Les infections sont très rares. Ce lifting donne de très beaux résultats. Vous pourrez rapidement porter vos t-shirts à manches courtes avec plaisir et fierté !

Traitements liés

correction des cuisses
lifting des seins
lifting du visage
correction du ventre

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos