NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Thigh lift (thigh correction)

Thigh lift - Thigh correction

As time goes by or following a significant weight loss, the skin of the thighs can lose its elasticity. This can lead to an excess of skin, often flabby, on the inner thighs. Sport can help to tone the thighs but will not prevent slackness of the skin. A thigh lift will help tighten the skin of the thighs. If the thighs are too big, the surgeon may proceed with some liposculpture.

What happens?

The surgeon removes the excess skin situated between the inner thighs. In addition, the skin is re-tightened in an aesthetic way and lifted upwards against the force of gravity. If necessary the plastic surgeon can suck out the excess fat.

Scar

The incision is made in the least visible place; this is to say the scar extends from the crease of the groin, between the pubis up to the seam of the buttocks and the inner thighs. The stitches are made under the skin. The skin itself is then glued. In the first few months, the scar will be red and hard but it will become smoother and soften in the year that follows. Your plastic surgeon will help accelerate the natural maturation process. In extreme cases the scar will be vertical on the interior of the thighs.

Anaesthetic

Thanks to a refinement in operation techniques and a constant progress in the anaesthetic field these last few years, the thigh lift is carried out under a local anaesthetic with a mild sedation. After the operation, you will feel fit and well. It is not necessary to envisage a night’s stay at the clinic.

Recovery

You are able to leave the clinic the same day as your operation. There will be no drains. This operation causes little pain. It is possible that you may feel some discomfort in the first 24 hours. You will receive classical pain killers such as ibuprofen and paracetamol.
In the first few weeks it will be difficult to sit down and to walk as the skin is very taut. The ankles can be temporarily swollen. Sometimes the appearance of bruises can be noticed.
You will be absent from work for about one week. A week after the surgery you change the bandage by your self. The plastic surgeon will evaluate the results two months after your surgery, based on photos taken before the surgery.

Care and safety

The plastic surgeon proceeds with these operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

Even though the thigh lift is generally done under local anaesthetic, you are constantly watched over under monitoring by the anaesthetist (automatic and repetitive measures of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram). One or two highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. These surroundings will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

The local anaesthetic allows not only an operation without pain but also a minimal risk of blood loss and bruises.

If you are taking anti-coagulant drugs, please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex. acetylsalicylic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Risks and eventual complications

If you are in good health, you have nothing to worry about as there is no risk linked to this operation. Infections are very rare. The wound is situated near the seam of the buttocks and it can take longer to heal, as this is a delicate area. Moreover this area of the body is put under more pressure especially in the seated position.

Related treatments

arm lift
face lift
breast uplift
abdominal lift, tummy tuck

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Lifting (correction des cuisses)

Lifting - correction des cuisses

Au fil du temps ou suite à une perte de poids conséquente, la peau des cuisses peut perdre son élasticité. Cela entraîne un excédent de peau souvent flasque, à l’intérieur des cuisses. Le sport aide à tonifier les cuisses mais n’empêchera pas le relâchement de la peau. Le lifting des cuisses permet de tendre à nouveau la peau des cuisses. Si les cuisses sont trop gros, le chirurgien peut procéder parallèlement à une liposculpture.

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Le chirurgien élimine l’excédent de peau de l’entre-deux jambes. Par ailleurs, la peau est retendue de façon esthétique et liftée vers le haut, contre la force de gravité. Si nécessaire, on peut aspirer la graisse excédente, grâce à une liposculpture.

Cicatrice

L’incision se fait à l’endroit le moins visible, c'est à dire que la cicatrice s’étend depuis le pli de l’aine, entre le pubis jusqu’à la couture des fesses et à l’intérieur des cuisses. La suture s’opère sous la peau. La peau mème est ensuite collée. Les premiers mois, la cicatrice peut être rouge et endurcie. Mais elle s’éclaircit et s’assouplit dans l’année qui suit l’intervention. Votre chirurgien vous donnera des conseils afin d’accélérer le processus naturel de maturation de votre cicatrice. Dans les cas extêmes, la cicatrice sera verticale, à l’intérieur de la cuisse.

Anesthésie

Grâce au raffinement des techniques opératoires et à un progrès constant dans le domaine de l’anesthésie ces dernières années, le lifting des cuisses se déroule sous une légère anesthésie locale avec sédation légère. Après l’intervention, vous vous sentirez en pleine forme. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’envisager une nuitée à la clinique.

Rétablissement

Vous pourrez quitter la clinique le jour-même de l’intervention. Il n'ya pas de drains. Cette intervention est peu douloureuse. Il est possible que vous ressentiez un peu de gêne les premières 24 heures. Vous recevrez à cet effet des anti-douleurs classiques, comme l’ibuprofen ou le paracétamol.
Les deux premières semaines, il vous sera difficile de vous asseoir et de marcher car la peau est très tendue. Les chevilles peuvent être temporairement enflées. L’on observe parfois formation de bleus.
Vous serez absent environ une semaine de votre lieu de travail. Une semaine après l’intervention, le chirurgien vous attendra pour un contrôle et votre pansement sera changé. Le chirurgien évaluera les résultats deux mois après l’intervention, sur base des photos prises avant l'opération.

Précautions et sécurité

Le chirurgien esthétique procède aux interventions dans les conditions de sécurité les plus optimales, entouré d’une équipe professionnelle.
Bien que le lifting des cuisses se fasse généralement sous anesthésie locale, vous êtes constamment surveillé sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesures automatiques et répétitives de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Une ou plusieurs infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.
L’anesthésie locale permet non seulement une intervention sans douleurs, mais aussi un risque minimal de perte de sang ou d’apparition de bleus.
Votre opération se déroule exclusivement dans un environnement stérile.

Si vous prenez des médicaments coagulants, merci d’en aviser votre médecin plasticien au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalique, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.)

Après l’opération, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien esthétique à tout moment sur son n° de gsm personnel, si vous avez la moindre question.

Risques éventuels et complications

Si vous êtes en bonne santé, ne craignez aucun risque lié à l’intervention. Les infections sont très rares. La plaie située près de la couture des fesses peut mettre plus de temps à se rétablir, vu que l’hygiène y est plus délicate. Cette zone du corps est soumise à plus de pression, surtout dans la position assise.

Traitements liés

correction des bras
lifting du visage
lifting des seins
correction du ventre

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos