NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Mini-tummy tuck (abdominal mini-correction)

Mini-tummy tuck - Abdominal mini-correction - Mini-abdominplasty

With age, after pregnancy or following a significant weight loss, skin can lose its elasticity. This leads to loose excess skin on the lower stomach (an overhang of skin) or folds of the skin on the upper stomach.  Sport can strengthen the abdomen but can never make up for this surplus of distended skin.

A mini tummy tuck is favourable in cases where there is a small excess of skin. There will be only a short scar above the pubic area because the navel does not have to be repositioned.

What happens?

A mini-tummy tuck has 3 distinct characteristics:

1.    The plastic surgeon removes the excess skin from the bottom of the stomach by cutting it. This represents about 7 cm in height. Next, the remaining skin from the lower stomach is tightened again and sewn. Unlike a full tummy tuck the navel is not detached or re-positioned.
2.    There is no muscle correction; technically this is not possible in a mini-tummy tuck. Therefore a mini-tummy tuck is much lighter than a full tummy tuck.
3.    The plastic surgeon often carries out liposculpture on the upper and lower stomach. Result? Resulting in a brand new figure!

Scar

The incision is made in least visible place, this is to say a precise position in the natural fold just above the groin. Therefore the scar can be found at panty level, thus hidden. This scar is less than half long as the one for the full tummy tuck. Because the navel does not have to be re-positioned, there is no scar around the belly button. All stitches are deep and not visible and the skin is glued with strips to obtain a neat scar.

The first few months the scar may be red and hard but this will progressively disappear and the hardness will soften within the year that follows your surgery. Your plastic surgeon will give you advice in order to accelerate the process. It is recommended that you care for your scar in the first weeks by using an oily cream (hand cream, day cream, bio oil, almond oil, a balm for scars).

Anaesthetic

Thanks to a refinement in operation techniques and a constant progress in the anesthetic field these last few years, the correction of the stomach is carried out under a mild local anesthetic. After the operation, you will feel fit and well. It is not necessary to envisage a night’s stay at the clinic.

Care and safety

The plastic surgeon proceeds with these operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

Even though the mini-tummy tuck is generally done under local anaesthetic, you are constantly monitored by the anaesthetist (automatic and repetitive measures of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram). One or two highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. This environment will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

The local anaesthetic allows not only an operation without pain but also a minimal risk of blood loss and bruising.

Your operation is carried out exclusively in a sterile environment. During the operation you will receive a mild antibiotic.

If you are taking anti-coagulant drugs please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex. acetylsalicylic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Recovery

After a mini-tummy tuck a night’s stay at the clinic is not necessary, in contrast with the full tummy tuck with muscle correction.

All sutures dissolve by themselves. Thus no stitches to be removed. You will not be able to shower for the first two weeks following your surgery.

You will be able to change your bandage after one week by yourself. Your plastic surgeon will show you how to do this.

Two months following the operation the surgeon will assess the results, based on the photos taken pre-operatively. He will recommend to you exercises that will allow you to keep your great abdominal result for the long term.

Eventual risks and complications

This is a very safe operation. This intervention is also much lighter than a full tummy tuck.

Infections are rare.

Related subjects

tummy tuck, abdominoplasty
liposculpture

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Mini-correction du ventre (mini-correction)

Mini-correction du ventre - mini-correction de l'abdomen - mini-abdominoplastie

Au fil du temps, suite à une perte de poids conséquente, une grossesse, la peau perd son élasticité. Cela entraine un excédent de peau flasque du bas-ventre et des plis sur le dessus du ventre. Faire du sport peut renforcer l’abdomen mais ne pourra jamais remédier à cet excédent de peau détendue.

Une mini-abdomino-plastie du ventre, si l’excèdent de peau n’est pas excessif, peut donner de très beaux résultats. La cicatrice est petite et toujours placée dans la région sus-pubienne.

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Comment cela se déroule-t-il ?

Une mini-correction du ventre se pratique en trois étapes distinctes.
1.    Le chirurgien esthétique retire l’excédent de peau du bas-ventre par une incision horizontale sus-pubienne d’environ vingt centimètres, dans le pli abdominal inférieur, la peau est retendue et recousue. Contrairement à une abdominiplastie complète, une incision autour de l’ombilic n’est pas pratiquée, car le nombril ne sera pas détaché.
2.    Il n’y a pas de correction des muscles abdominaux, ce n’est techniquement pas possible lors d’une mini-correction du ventre. Une mini-abdominoplastie est une intervention moins lourde qu’une abdominoplastie classique.
3.    Enfin, le chirurgien plasticien pratique une liposculpture sur la région de l’estomac et le bas-ventre pour obtenir un résultat harmonieux.

Cicatrice

L’incision se fait à l’endroit le moins visible, juste au-dessus du pubis. La cicatrice est située sous le slip. La cicatrice est nettement plus petite que celle d’un abdominoplastie classique. Il n’y a pas de cicatrice autour du nombril car celui-ci ne sera pas déplacé. La suture est sous-cutanée et la peau est recollée à l’aide d’une colle tissulaire. Les fils sont résorbables.

Les premiers mois, la cicatrice peut être rougeâtre et endurcie, mais elle s’éclaircit et s’assouplit endéans l’année qui suit votre opération. Votre chirurgien plasticien vous donnera des conseils afin d’accélérer ce processus. Pendant les premières semaines il est recommandé de soigner votre cicatrice au moyen d’une crème grasse (baume cicatrisant, crème pour les mains, crème de jour, huile d’amandes douce ou autres).

Anesthésie

Grâce au raffinement des techniques opératoires et à un progrès constant dans le domaine de l’anesthésie ces dernières années, la mini-correction du ventre se déroule sous une légère anesthésie contrairement à une abdominoplastie classique qui nécessite une anesthésie totale.
Votre opération se déroule exclusivement dans un environnement stérile. Un léger antibiotique vous sera administré. Une nuitée à l’hôpital n’est pas nécessaire.

Précautions et sécurité

Le chirurgien plasticien procède aux interventions dans des conditions de sécurité optimales, entouré d’une équipe médicale professionnelle. Vous êtes constamment surveillé sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesure automatique et répétitive de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Des infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.

L’intervention est sans douleurs, avec un risque minimal de perte de sang ou d’apparition d’hématomes.

Si vous prenez des médicaments anticoagulants veuillez en aviser votre chirurgien plasticien au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalicylique, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan et autres.)

Après l’intervention, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien esthétique à tout moment sur son portable, si vous avez un souci ou si vous avez la moindre question.

Rétablissement

Lors d’une mini-abdominoplastie une nuitée à l’hôpital n’est pas nécessaire, contrairement à une correction du ventre avec correction des muscles classique.

Vous ressentirez peu de douleurs après l’intervention grâce à l’effet de l’anesthésie locale et puisqu’il n’y a pas eu de correction des muscles abdominaux, comme pour une abdominoplastie classique. Des antidouleurs comme l’ibuprofen et le paracétamol vous seront prescrits pour faire face aux douleurs.

Le lendemain pourrez à nouveau vous déplacer. Lors d’une mini-plastie abdominale l’on ne place pas de drain et toutes les sutures sont résorbables.

Vous serez absent de votre lieu de travail pendant quelques jours. Durant quinze jours, vous porterez un bandage élastique autour de l’abdomen.
Deux mois après l’intervention, le chirurgien plasticien évaluera les résultats de la mini-correction du ventre, sur base des photos prises avant l’intervention. Il est vivement conseillé de reprendre le sport et de faire des exercices, afin d'entretenir le renforcement de la sangle musculaire abdominale.

Risques éventuels et complications

La mini-abdominoplastie est une intervention plus légère qu’une correction du ventre classique.

Cette opération est sans risques et les infections sont très rares.

Traitements liés

correction du ventre, abdominoplastie, plastie du ventre
liposculpture

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos