NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Labia reduction

Labia reduction

The internal lips are also know as the small lips. They differentiate themselves more or less from the external lips or the  big lips. This is completely normal. The size of the lips strongly differs from one woman to another. The lips can also vary from one side to the other. The lips can inconvenience a woman when she rides a bike or while doing sport. They can be visible when wearing a bikini or other or tight clothing. Women can feel awkward within a sexual relationship.
This subject is taboo for a lot of people and yet there is a simple operation that can remedy this problem.

What happens?

The surgeon eliminates the excess of the lip. It is you that determines exactly the extent of the correction needed. The clitoris and the nerves stay intact. The sensitivity of the erogenous zone stays exactly the same.

Scar

The wound is sutured under the skin. This operation leaves no visible trace.

Anaesthetic

Thanks to state of the art operation techniques and a constant progress in the field of anesthetic these last years, the lifting of the internal lips is carried out under a local. After the operation you will feel fine, and it is not necessary to contemplate a nights stay in the clinic.

Recovery

After the operation you will rest for about an hour at the clinic and then you can go home. You will be able to walk but you should be aware that it will be difficult the first few days. When the effect of the local anaesthetic will have disappeared, you will take painkillers (combination of ibuprofen and paracetamol) which will help you cope with any eventual painful swelling.  For your comfort you will wear a large pants, with a with a protective sanitary towel in the slip. You can also desinfect the wound twice a day with isobetadine.

Precautions

The plastic surgeon carries out the operations in conditions of total security, surrounded by a professional team.

Although the correction of the internal lips is usually done under local anaesthetic, you are constantly monitered by the anesthetist (automatic and repetitive measure of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram). One or two highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. This surrounding will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

The local anaesthetic allows not only an operation without pain but also a minimal risk of bloodloss and the appearance of bruises.

If you are taking coagulant drugs please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex., acetylsalicylic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Eventual risks and complications

This operation does not involve any complications. We avoid bleeding by meticulous laser coagulation of bleeding capilaries and thanks to special effect of the local anaesthetic.

Even if the hygene is difficult in this area, problems of infection rarely arise. After the operation the wound has to be well disinfected (with isobetadine and  seated baths).

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Nymophlastie (reduction labiale - labiaplastie)

Nymophlastie / reduction labiale / labiaplastie / chirurgie intime

Les lèvres de la vulve interne sont aussi appelées petites lèvres. Elles dépassent les lèvres externes ou grandes lèvres. Ceci est tout à fait normal. La taille des lèvres diffère fort d’une femme à l’autre. La taille de la lèvre peut varier également d’un côté à l’autre. Les lèvres peuvent gêner la femme lorsqu’elle fait du vélo ou pratique un sport. Elles peuvent être visibles dans un bikini ou un vêtement porté près du corps. À cause de ce problème, les femmes peuvent se sentir mal à l’aise pendant une relation sexuelle.
Pour beaucoup de femmes ce sujet reste difficile à aborder, pourtant, une simple intervention peut remédier à ce problème.
Nymphoplastie, réduction labiale, réduction des lèvres vaginales, labiaplastie, labioplastie ou chirurgie intime sont des synonymes pour cette intervention.

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Le chirurgien plasticien élimine l’excédent de la lèvre. C’est la patiente qui détermine la mesure de la correction. Le clitoris et les nerfs restent intacts. La sensibilité de la zone érogène reste identiquement la même.

Cicatrice

La plaie est suturée sous-cutanée. Cette intervention ne laisse aucune trace visible.

Anesthésie

Grâce au raffinement des techniques opératoires et à un progrès constant dans le domaine de l’anesthésie ces dernières années, la correction des lèvres internes se déroule sous une anesthésie locale. Après l’intervention, vous vous sentirez en pleine forme. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’envisager une nuitée à l’hôpital.

Rétablissement

Après l’intervention, vous vous reposerez pendant environ une heure et pourrez ensuite rentrer chez vous. Vous pourrez marcher mais sachez que ce sera difficile les deux premiers jours. Lorsque l’effet de l’anesthésie aura disparu, vous prendrez des antidouleurs (combinaison d’ibuprofen et de paracétamol) pour vous aider à faire face aux éventuelles douleurs.  Pour votre confort, vous porterez un slip ample, souple, dans lequel vous placerez une serviette hygiénique adéquate. Vous pourrez aussi désinfecter la plaie deux fois par jour avec de l’isobétadine.

Précautions

Le chirurgien plasticien procède aux interventions dans les conditions de sécurité optimales, entouré d’une équipe médicale professionnelle.

Bien que la correction des lèvres internes se pratique généralement sous anesthésie locale, vous êtes constamment surveillée sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesure automatique et répétitive de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Des infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.

L’anesthésie locale permet non seulement une intervention sans douleurs, mais aussi un risque minimal de perte de sang ou d’apparition d’hématomes.

Si vous prenez des médicaments anticoagulants, veuillez en aviser votre chirurgien esthétique au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalicylique, aspirine asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.).

Après l’intervention, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien plasticien à tout moment sur son portable, si vous avez un souci ou si vous avez la moindre question.

Risques éventuels et complications

Cette intervention n’entraîne aucune complication. On évite les saignements par une coagulation méticuleuse au laser des vaisseaux capillaires et grâce à l’action bénéfique de l’anesthésie locale.

Malgré que l’hygiène soit difficile à cet endroit, les problèmes d’infection surviennent rarement. Après l’intervention, la plaie doit être bien désinfectée en faisant des bains de siège à l’isobétadine).

Sujets liés / synonymes

nymphoplastie
réduction labiale
réduction des lèvres vaginales
labiaplastie
labioplastie
chirurgie intime
réduction des petites lèvres

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30