NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Treatments / Ear correction

Ear correction

Scallop shaped ears or ears that stick out often provoke teasing. Children often pay the price of taunting that strongly eats away at their confidence. We can already resort to an ear correction from the age of 4 years old. It can also happen that  adults take the decision later on to resort to this type of operation.

How is this carried out?

The surgeon pushes back the cartilage of the scallop of the ear towards the skull  by means of threads to this. The cartillage can be over sized. In this particular case the surgeon can make alterations to the cartillage.

Scar

The ear correction is performed entirely behind the ear. Therefore there is absolutely no visible scar. The incision is made in deep groove situated behind the ear and is sutured beneath the skin.

Anaesthetic

Most of the time, a local anaesthetic is sufficient. We administer to more nervous patients a medication with the aim of calming them down in the short term. This anaesthetic is proportioned in different gradations until the patient is asleep. With children under 16 years old it is preferable to resort to a general anaesthetic.

Precautions

The plastic surgeon proceeds with these operations in conditions of optimal security, surrounded by a professional team.

Even though the ear correction is done most of the time under local anaesthetic, you are constantly watched over under monitoring by the anesthetist (automatic and repetitive measure of the blood pressure, constant measuring of the oxygen saturation, electrocardiogram). One or two highly qualified nurses will equally supervise. This surrounding will guarantee that you have faultless safety.

The locale anaesthetic allows not only an operation without pain but also a minimal risk of bloodloss and the appearance of bruises.

If you are taking anti-coagulant drugs, please inform your plastic surgeon of this first (for ex., acetylsalic acid, aspirin, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan and others).

After the operation you are able to contact your plastic surgeon at all times on his personal mobile number, if you have the slightest question.

Recovery

You can go home, already one hour after the operation. The local anaesthetic carrys on its effect for a couple of hours. It is possible that you will feel some pain during the first 24 hours. Ibuprofen and  paracetamol will help you  cope with this.
Following the operation you will wear a bandage around the ears, that will be taken off 5 days later. You can from that moment wash your hair again. You will have to wear a protective bandage during the night for 3 weeks.
You will be able to go back to work 2 days after the operation, if the wearing of the bandage does not pose any problems in your professional daily life.

Risks and eventual complications

This operation in carried out in total security and produces excellent results. Your plastic surgeon works towards to observing harmonious symmetry between the right and left ear. He meticulously watches that the ears are not stuck to the skull. There is infinitely little risk of infection in this type of operation.

Related subjects

distended earlobe

Contact

Surgery and consultations (after appointment)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgium
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgium
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

We consult in the UK and in Ireland
See more photos

NL | FR | EN
Dr. Patrick Dedoncker

Traitements / Correction des oreilles

Correction des oreilles

Les oreilles en coquilles ou les oreilles décollées provoquent souvent des moqueries diverses. Les enfants font souvent les frais de ces railleries qui minent fortement leur confiance en eux-mêmes. On peut déjà recourir à une correction des oreilles dès l’âge de 4 ans. Il arrive aussi que les adultes prennent plus tard la décision de recourir à ce type d’intervention.

Comment cela se déroule-t-il?

Le chirurgien repousse le cartillage de la coquille d’oreille vers le crâne au moyen de fils ad hoc. Le cartillage peut être surdimensionné. Dans ce cas précis, le chirurgien aménagera le cartillage.

Cicatrice

La correction des oreilles s’effectue entièrement par l’arrière de l’oreille. Il n’y a donc absolument aucune cicatrice visible. L’incision se fait dans la rainure profonde située derrière l’oreille et est suturée sous la peau.

Anesthésie

La plupart du temps, une anesthésie locale est suffisante. On administrera aux patients plus nerveux une médication visant à les apaiser à court terme. Cette anesthésie est dosée en différentes gradations, jusqu’à l’endormissement du patient. Chez les enfants âgés de moins de 16 ans, il est préférable de recourir à une anesthésie générale.

Précautions

Le chirurgien plasticien procède aux interventions dans les conditions de sécurité les plus optimales, entouré d’une équipe professionnelle.

Bien que la correction des oreilles se fasse généralement sous anesthésie locale, vous êtes constamment surveillé sous monitoring par l’anesthésiste (mesure automatique et répétitive de la pression sanguine, mesure constante de la saturation d’oxygène, électrocardiogramme). Une ou plusieurs infirmières diplômées vous encadrent également. Ce contexte vous garantit une sécurité sans failles.
L’anesthésie locale permet non seulement une intervention sans douleurs, mais aussi un risque minimal de perte de sang ou d’apparition de bleus.

Si vous prenez des médicaments anti-coagulants, merci d’en aviser votre chirurgien plasticien au préalable (par ex. acide acétylsalique, aspirine, asaflow, cardioaspirine, dipiridamole, plavix, sintrom, marevan e.a.).

Après l’opération, vous pourrez contacter votre chirurgien plasticien à tout moment sur son n° de gsm personnel, si vous avez la moindre question.

Rétablissement

Vous pourrez rentrer chez vous, déjà une heure après l’intervention. L’anesthésie locale poursuit son effet durant quelques heures. Il est possible que vous ressentiez de la douleur les premières 24 heures. L’ibuprofen et le paracétamol vous aideront à y faire face.
Après l’intervention, vous porterez un bandage autour des oreilles, que l’on vous retirera 5 jours plus tard. Vous pourrez dès lors à nouveau vous laver les cheveux. Vous devrez porter un bandage protecteur pendant la nuit, durant 3 semaines.
Vous pourrez reprendre le travail 2 jours après l’intervention, si le port du bandage ne vous pose pas de problèmes dans votre quotidien professionnel.

Risques éventuels et complications

Cette intervention se fait en toute sécurité et donne d’excellents résultats. Votre chirurgien plasticien s’applique à respecter une symétrie harmonieuse entre l’oreille gauche et l’oreille droite. Il veille méticuleusement à ce que les oreilles ne soient pas collées au crâne. Il y a infiniment peu de risques d’infection lors de ce type d’intervention.

Traitements liés

lobe détendu

Contact

Opérations et consultations (après rendez-vous)

A.Z. Jan Portaels
Gendarmeriestraat 65
B-1800 Vilvoorde
Belgique
T: +32 (0)2 257 59 74

A.Z. Lokeren
Lepelstraat 2
9160 Lokeren
Belgique
T: +32 (0)9 340 85 30

Regardez plus de photos